My experiences about a JMS interchange between HornetQ and ActiveMQ over Apache ServiceMix

I recently had a project where I had to deploy some Apache Camel routes, deployed over ServiceMix, that had to connect to a HornetQ messaging system, deployed on a JBoss Application Server.

My first intention was to wrap the HornetQ libraries as OSGi bundles and deploy them on Apache ServiceMix, but it was a real nightmare, with numerous class loading problems, terrible! There is an example of a similar use case of mine, written by Torsten Mielke, but I couldn’t establish the connection between Apache ServiceMix 6.0.0 and JBoss EAP 6.3. On the other hand, there is a HornetQ issue to make it OSGi compliant, but it also didn’t work out in my case.

My final approach to the problem was to set up HornetQ bridges between JBoss EAP 6.3 and the JMS installation of ServiceMix: Apache ActiveMQ. You can find the code of my proof of concept in one of my GitHub repositories. I honestly think that this solution desvirtues the concept of an ESB, because the routing is made outside, but it works!

Leave a Reply

