Routing Oracle AQ messages using Apache Camel in ServiceMix: the XA option

I wrote in my last post about how to route messages between software based on Oracle Advanced Queuing (AQ) and Apache ActiveMQ, using Camel over ServiceMix. Today, I’d like to write about a different option than the ones I talked before: the XA option.

There are situations where, in case of any exception, you have to guarantee that in any way any message is lost and that messages are not received duplicated, these situations are where the X/Open XA standard comes into action.

I started my research on this issue by looking for documentation and examples. Two elements where very useful at this point: an Oracle White Paper about XA and Oracle controlled Distributed Transactions, that allowed me to review the XA topic, and a very good sample of a similar situation that shows how to use XA transactions with Camel across ActiveMQ and WebSphere MQ written by Torsten Mielke. You can find the result code of my XA test on my GitHub repository.

The test has a processor, copied from Torsten’s example, that simulates an exception and allows you to see how the exchange is recovered. But, the interesting issue here is trying to recover after an Oracle database crash or a network failure in the middle of a message exchange. I’ve made many test, for the first ones I used an Oracle 11.2 test database over a Microsoft Windows operative system and Apache ServiceMix 6.0, also over Windows. In this environment, I submitted shutdown abort and shutdown immediate commands to the database and the Geronimo recovery manager didn’t recovered the Oracle branches in prepared state, so I had to commit force the in-doubt transactions.

I wasn’t happy with the previous solution, which it is not recommended by Oracle (read the previously linked white paper) and it isn’t transparent for the user. My final environment wasn’t Windows bases, but Linux, so I ran other tests using another Oracle 11.2 database installed over Linux Red-Hat and Apache ServiceMix 6.0, also over Linux. In this case, the Geronimo recovery manager was capable of recovering prepared transactions and I couldn’t reproduce the error. An Oracle database configuration problem? an operative system issue? That’s I suppose.

Leave a Reply

