Debugging Java Stored Procedures

I’ve been a fan of developing Java software stored in Oracle Databases for the last years, it’s the perfect partner of PL/SQL,  where this structured language is difficult to deal with or simply can’t achieve the goal.

One of my first problems was remote debugging, a common issue for every programmer.

First of all, I asked my DBA for the DEBUG CONNECT SESSION system privilege. When I got it, I had to configure my JDeveloper project for remote debugging, I started using the version 10g of this powerful IDE, so I changed the project properties in order to listen for JPDA (Java Platform Debugger Architecture) connections:

Project properties for remote debugging, JDeveloper 10g

Nowadays, I’m working with JDeveloper 11g, where I have to configure a Run/Debug/Profile within the project properties, clicking on the Remote Debugging check-box of the Launch Settings and adjusting the same parameters of the former version:

Project properties for remote debugging, JDeveloper 11g

Later on, the next step was to set the breakpoints I needed in the code, so I could go to the menu Run → Debug, in order to listen for remote debugging sessions. At this point, I was asked for the details of the connection:

Listening process parameters

Once I started the listening process, I could check for it checking the Run Manager.

The next step was to run SQL*Plus (nowadays I use SQLDeveloper), logging on the Database and calling the procedure dbms_debug_jdwp.connect_tcp with two VARCHAR2 parameters: the IP direction of my PC and  the port where my IDE was listening for JPDA connections.

After that, I started my debugging session calling the PL/SQL wrapper from SQL*Plus.

When I finished my debugging session, I ran the procedure dbms_debug_jdwp.disconnect from SQL*Plus and I used the Run Manager of JDeveloper to terminate the listening process.

Finally, I would like to talk of some problems I’ve suffered from: sometimes the debugger disconnects the session without any reason, others it disconnects when the Java code throws an exception in order to be managed by the calling PL/SQL, both times the Oracle Database connection is finished too.

One Comment on “Debugging Java Stored Procedures”

  1. anonymous says:

    good to know that java can be used inside oracle and can be debug also. here is another useful link related to 10 tips to debug java program in eclipse


Leave a Reply

